Dwight D. Eisenhower Series Class of 2019

Each year outstanding Republican women throughout Kansas will have the opportunity to learn more about the political process from leaders across the state, national Republican Party officials, and elected Republicans serving in our nation's Capitol.

Current Class

Julia Nelson Julia Nelson

Julia Nelson is Livestock Compliance Manager, Assistant HR Director, Risk Management Associate, Office Manager and Public Relations Director for her family’s row crop farming operation, grain merchandising facility, trucking operation and banking industry. She serves on the board for the Norton County Community Foundation and she is a member of the Norton PEO Chapter. She graduated from Kansas State University with a bachelor’s degree in Animal Science.


Sandy Pickert Sandy Pickert

Sandy Pickert is a Nurse Co-Manager for Children’s Mercy Wichita Specialty Clinic. She served as the Executive Director of Pure & Simple Health Education which provides abstinence education to teens. She graduated from St. Mary’s of the Plains College with a Nursing Degree and holds a Master’s Degree in Public Health from KU-Wichita. She was the statewide coordinator for Marriage for Keeps, a program through Catholic Charities. Sandy was a member of Teenage Republicans and her first campaign was for Bob Dole when he first ran for the U.S. Congress. She is a precinct committeewoman. She volunteers with Kansans for Life and is on the Sedgwick County KFL PAC.

Lori Rahjes Lori Rahjes

Lori Rahjes is an insurance agent specializing in processing crop insurance. She graduated from the University of Kansas with a Liberal Arts degree. Lori and her husband Ken own AgView.net, a radio network and Kansas Ag Report and a weekly television show, both providing agriculture information and programming. Lori is a member of the Phillips County Republican Women, Chairman of the Phillips County Beautification Committee and Clerk of Session for the United Presbyterian Church in Phillipsburg.

Katie Sawyer Katie Sawyer

Katie Sawyer is the District Director for Congressman Roger Marshall. She graduated from Pittsburg State University with a bachelor’s degree in International Studies and Communication. She earned a Master's Degree in Strategic Communication from Purdue University. Before working as a District Director, Katie worked as a reporter, managing editor for print publications, manager of public relations for several small companies in Central Kansas, and Career Services Director and part-time instructor in the Communications Department at McPherson College. She is a precinct committee woman and is active in local and state Republican politics.