Current Board of Governors

The members of the Eisenhower Board of Governors are responsible for the Series' nomination and application process, administration, curriculum, social events and alumni relations. The group meets four times a year to plan Series sessions, always striving to incorporate suggestions from recent class participants in order to keep the curriculum and events fresh, informative and relevant to the changing economic and political landscape.

Our deepest appreciation is directed to the women who have served on the Board of Governors in the past. Please click here for those who have paved the way for our current success.

Eisenhower Series Board of Governors 2016-2017

Julie Hein Julie Hein

Lobbyists for the clients represented by Hein Law Firm; former American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) Private Sector Co-Chair for Kansas; over 22 years involvement in politics.

Diane Macheers Diane Macheers

Appointed by the Governor as a Trustee for the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame, elected as Secretary for Johnson County Republican Party, an Executive Board Member for The Friends of Cedar Crest, a Republican Precinct Committeewoman (five terms), and a graduate of the 2016 class Dwight D. Eisenhower Excellence in Public Service Series.READ MORE

 Former member Board of Directors and head of the Strategic Planning Committee for Growing Futures (formerly Head Start of Shawnee Mission) and a former member of the Patient and Family Advisory Council at Shawnee Mission Medical Center. Works as an integrated marketer for GlynnDevins in Kansas City, MO. Formerly at Zillner, Barkley and American Century Investments.

Sarah Shipman Sarah Shipman

Kansas Secretary of Administration, confirmed February 17, 2015. Former Chief Counsel, Deputy Secretary and deputy director for leasing and real estate for the Dept of Admin. Former VP and counsel for Silver Lake Bank in Topeka; adjunct faculty member at the Washburn University School of Law; associate general counsel for MRV, Inc.

Christine Smith Christine Smith

Graduate, Eisenhower Series Class of 2017 and Class Representative; Wallace County Treasurer; Vice-Chair, Wallace County Republican Central Committee; Member of Board of Education, USD #242 Weskan; Campaign Treasurer, Smith for Kansas; Co-owner, Willow Creek Ranch; Former Career Services and Endowment Director at Northwest Kansas Technical College; Former Board of Directors Member, Northwest Kansas Educational Service Center; Mom to three amazing children.

Janae Talbott Janae Talbott

Executive Director, Russell County Eco Devo and CVB; Vice President, Western KS Rural Economic Development Alliance; Past PCID and VP, NWKS Planning and Development; Pioneer Country Development Inc.; Board Member, KS Development Alliance; Graduate, Russell Area Chamber of Commerce Excellence in Public Service; volunteer for Russell PRIDE, Russell Community Theatre, Trinity Methodist Thrift Store; small business owner; Member, Eisenhower Board of Governors.

Devona Troutman Devona Troutman

Former Fundraiser for Maranatha Academy; former President, Eisenhower Series 2010-2011; Republican volunteer; former Home Owners Association board member; former small business owner - Etcetera clothing; former co-owner of Shoelaces boutique, Wichita.

Emily Wellman Emily Wellman

District Representative, US Senator Pat Roberts; former Operations Manager, Pat Roberts for Senate; former staff, US Senator Sam Brownback; former Compliance Officer, Central National Bank.

Dr. Helen Van Etten – Ex-Officio Member Dr. Helen Van Etten – Ex-Officio Member

Republican National Committeewoman (2008-present); RNC Budget Committee (2011-2013); Delegate, 2008 Republican National Convention; National Board Member, National Federation of Pachyderm Clubs; President & Founder, Shawnee Co. Pachyderm Club; President, Kansas Federation of Republican Women- Shawnee Chapter; Consultant, Health Care Policy, Kansas SRS-Medicaid Program; At-large Member, READ MORE

Kansas Republican Executive Committee; former Advisory Committee Member, Kan Be Health Committee, Member, American Business Women’s Assoc.– Meadowlark Chapter; Member, New York Speech-Language Assoc.; Member, Taiwan Speech-Language Assoc.; Member, American Speech-Language Assoc., and Kansas Speech-Language Assoc.; Member, Heartland Sertoma Club; Volunteer, Kansas Neurological Institute.